Sometimes a report card can break the gloom . . .

editing_for_authors
Editing for authors: because every writer needs a good editor.

LarryWinger

Registered
Reaction score
Hi,
As a newbie, I'm not at all sure that I'm allowed to post anything yet, apart from an introduction, but I've been dealing with discouragement and despondency a bit over the past weeks. And my last submission to our writers group was universally panned. In a nice way, of course, but still.

It wasn't in a pique, but it was more of a 'think about it, mate' kind of response that had me going over the entire academic year's work (our writing group is organised in three pairs of half-terms, six weeks per half-term) and just listing the titles, before annotating them as to what transpired with the pieces I'd submitted. Along the way, the exercise already helped lift my dark mood, and then I hit upon a new personal strategy.

Apropos my last submission, our tutor suggested that writing can/should have intrinsic value to the writer, regardless of the end result (sales/readership/accolades). And I realised that both in poetry and prose, the pieces that either didn't find their way onto any competition long-list, or get incorporated into my developing novels, are still valuable to me. I still like the ideas in my last submission too. So I thought, why don't I collate all of the various pieces I'd worked on over the year into an eBook for myself. Called it 'Travels to a Different Place' since there are pieces of a distant time as well as traveller's tales, in addition to other memoir-type items, recollections of angst and dread, whatever.