Should an author mention their MS is ghostwritten?

Ms.Ghost

Registered
Reaction score
Hey, AW! Forgive me if this is the wrong place for this question. I tend to be a bit of a shy lurker, but I’m really STUMPED. I’ve looked all over the net for the answer—in the usual agent blogs etc.—and I’m getting nothing.

Quick backstory: I’m a lifelong writer who just dipped my toe into freelancing. I got a few ghostwriting jobs, and I’m giving it my all. One, in particular, is a client’s passion-project novel. They’re good people, this client, and they’re very excited about the completed draft. But they’re asking for advice on how to query, and I don’t know what to tell them.

Basically, should my client mention in their query that their novel has been ghostwritten? I always tend to err on the side of honesty, but with ghostwriting, I’m just not sure what the conventions are. If it’s expected for an author not to mention their project is ghostwritten, will they look amateur bringing it up in a query? On the other hand, if they don’t mention it and their own writing outs them in communication, could they face major consequences for that?

I want to have the utmost respect for everyone involved here—the client and the agent/editors they query—but I just can’t seem to find what the right advice would be. I’ve only ever queried my own work, so I’ve never run into this issue before.

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!

Nether

won't put Christmas decorations up b4 Halloween
Registered
Reaction score
I don't know what the rules are about this, but at some point an agent has to know that. The problem is that's a potential red flag when querying because the client-author adding a layer to the relationship where, if the draw is the ghostwriter's work, it'll be a problem if the ghostwriter isn't available.

Maggie Maxwell

Making Einstein cry since 1994
Registered
Reaction score
Website
thewanderingquille.blogspot.com