Self-published novel on KDP now very popular - trade publishers approaching

editing_for_authors
Editing for authors: because every writer needs a good editor.

Blackwell

Registered
Reaction score
Hey gang, one of my KDP horror novels has really blown up, and now I've got a German publisher who represents Dean Koontz and Stephen King in Europe wants to translate my book and publish it in Germany. I just wanted to ask since I didn't see it on KDP's website - am I even allowed to do this? Or does Amazon now fully own the publishing rights to my book in all languages?

Reactions: Introversion

Fuchsia Groan

Becoming a laptop-human hybrid
Registered
Reaction score
Congratulations!

I’m not an expert, but I don’t think Amazon owns any rights to your book unless an Amazon imprint is your publisher. KDP is essentially the retailer. You have a choice whether to sell your book exclusively through them, which is very much not the case when you license your rights to a publisher.

You might think about approaching agents who could help you negotiate the foreign rights deal with this German publisher. Even trade publishers don’t necessarily own the foreign rights to the books they buy (it depends on the contract), and when they do, the author still gets a percentage of any sales.

Al X.

Registered
Reaction score
Congratulations!

I’m not an expert, but I don’t think Amazon owns any rights to your book unless an Amazon imprint is your publisher. KDP is essentially the retailer. You have a choice whether to sell your book exclusively through them, which is very much not the case when you license your rights to a publisher.

You might think about approaching agents who could help you negotiate the foreign rights deal with this German publisher. Even trade publishers don’t necessarily own the foreign rights to the books they buy (it depends on the contract), and when they do, the author still gets a percentage of any sales.