Publishing Short Fiction: ZINE MARKETS

editing_for_authors
Editing for authors: because every writer needs a good editor.

Status
Not open for further replies.

pdr

Banned
Joined
Feb 12, 2005
Messages
4,259
Reaction score
832
Location
Home - but for how long?
ZINE MARKETS - LITERARY ZINE URLS
including some genre zines which only accept literary writing in their genre.)
(No, I don't know what that means either! That's what they say.)

These urls are of individual magazines. If some techno expert can get them alphabetical that would be great. That way people can add to the list in the right place and keep it as one easy to read and access list without a zilllion different posts!
Happy researching and marketing
pdr

1. Pindeldyboz
http://www.pindeldyboz.com
2. Thieves Jargon
www.thievesjargon.com
3. Konundrum
www.konundrum.com
4. Spork Press Weekly Fiction
www.sporkpress.com
5. Atomjack
http://www.atomjackmagazine.com
6. The Cynic Online Magazine
http://www.cynicmag.com
7. The Hiss Quarterly
http://thehissquarterly.net
8. Foliate Oak Online
http://www.foliateoak.uamont.edu
9. Verbsap
http://www.verbsap.com
10, Arabesques
http://www.arabesquespress.org/journal/
11. In Posse Review
http://www.webdelsol.com/InPosse/
12. Storyglossia
http://www.storyglossia.com
13. Lablit.com
http://www.lablit.com
14. Ken*again
http://kenagain.freeservers.com/
15. VerbSap
http://www.verbsap.com/
16. Nonecludian Cafe
http://www.noneuclideancafe.com
17. River Walk Journal
http://riverwalkjournal.org
18. Whistling Shade
http://www.whistlingshade.com/
19. Eclectica
http://www.eclectica.org
20. Story South
http://www.storysouth.com
21. Arabesques Review
http://www.arabesquespress.org
22. Best Modern Fiction
http://www.bestmodernfiction.com/
23. Chick Flicks
http://www.chickflicksezine.com/
24. Slow Trains Literary Journal
http://www.slowtrains.com
25. Compass Rose
http://compassrose.chestercollege.edu/
26. TPQ OnLine
http://tpqonline.org/
27. Per Contra
http://www.percontra.net
28. Thieves Jargon
http://thievesjargon.com
29. The Hiss Quarterly
http://www.hissquarterly.com/
30. The Big Stupid Review
http://thedrillpress.com
31. Barcelona Review
http://www.barcelonareview.com/
32. Crimson Highway
http://www.crimsonhighway.com
33. Apogee Magazine
http://www.apogeemag.com/index.html
34. Adirondack Review
http://www.adirondackreview.homestead.com
35. The Stickman Review
http://www.stickmanreview.com
36. Storyglossia
www.storyglossia.com
37. Southern Hum
http://www.southernhum.com
38. Thieves Jargon
www.thievesjargon.com
39. Ghoti Magazine
http://www.ghotimag.com
40. failbetter.com
http://www.failbetter.com/index.php
41. San Francisco Bay Guardian
http://www.sfbg.com/
42. The Morning News
www.themorningnews.org
43. Wheelhouse Magazine
http://www.wheelhousemagazine.com/
44. The Angler
http://angler.donavanhall.net/?n=0
45. Word Riot
http://www.wordriot.org
46. Underground Voices
http://www.undergroundvoices.com
47. Cherry Bleeds
http://www.cherrybleeds.com
48. Edifice Wrecked
http://www.edificewrecked.com
49. The Write Side Up
http://writesideup.net/
50. NOÖ Journal
http://www.noojournal.com/
51. R.KV.R.Y Quarterly
http://www.ninetymeetingsinninetydays.com/
52. Spinetingler
http://www.spinetinglermag.com/
53. Carve Magazine
http://www.carvezine.com
54. Pindeldyboz
http://pindeldyboz.com/
55. Lorelei Signal
http://www.loreleisignal.com
56. Strange Horizons
http://www.strangehorizons.com
57. Our Stories
http://www.ourstories.us/
58. Lit Dispatch
http://litdispatch.net/dp/one/index.html
59. Juked
http://www.juked.com/index.html
60. Scarecrow
http://www.hodmandod.blogspot.com/
61. Summerset Review
www.summersetreview.org
62. Litro
http://www.litro.co.uk
63. Spork
www.sporkpress.com
64. Crime and Suspense
www.crimeandsuspense.com
65. Mom Writer’s Literary Magazine
www.momwriterslitmag.com
66. Hardluck Stories
http://www.hardluckstories.com/zine.htm
67. Word Riot
http://www.wordriot.org
68. The Rose and Thorn Literary Ezine
www.theroseandthornezine.com
69. LauraHird.com
www.laurahird.com
70. Fiction Warehouse
http://www.fictionwarehouse.com/index.asp
71. The Scruffy Dog Review
http://www.thescruffydogreview.com/
72. writeThis
http://www.writethis.com
73. Thirst For Fire
www.thirstforfire.com
74. Archipelago
www.archipelago.org/
75. Eyeshot
http://eyeshot.net
76. Alsop Review
www.alsopreview.com
77. Literary Mama
http://www.literarymama.com
78. Double Dare Press
http://www.doubledarepress.com
79. PoorMojo's Almanac
http://www.poormojo.org/
80. Mobius The Journal of Social Change
http://www.mobiusmagazine.com/
81. Moondance: Celebrating Creative Women
http://beta.moondance.org/index.html
82. anderbo.com
http://www.anderbo.com
83. Blue Print Review
http://www.blueprintreview.de
84. Dogmatika
http://dogmatika.com/
85. Cezanne’s Carrot
http://www.cezannescarrot.org/
86. Artistry of Life
http://www.artistryoflife.org
87. Konundrum
www.konundrum.com
88. ThugLit
http://www.thuglit.com
89. Demolition Magazine
http://www.demolitionmag.com
90. Alice Blue Review
http://www.alicebluereview.org/main.html
91. Buzzwords Magazine
http://www.buzzwordsmagazine.co.uk
92. The Furnace Review
http://www.thefurnacereview.com/
93. Drunken Boat
http://www.drunkenboat.com
94. The Thrilling Detective
http://www.thrillingdetective.com/
95. In Posse
http://webdelsol.com/InPosse/
96. The Deepening
http://www.thedeepening.com
97. Big Pond Rumours
http://www.big-pond-rumours.com
98. Yankee Pot Roast
http://www.yankeepotroast.org
99. Bewildering Stories
http://www.bewilderingstories.com
100. east of the web
http://www.eastoftheweb.com/
101. Conte: A Journal of Narrative Writing
http://www.conteonline.net/
102. Demolition Magazine
http://www.demolitionmag.com/103.
103. Words without Borders
http://www.wordswithoutborders.org/
104. Mississippi Review Online
http://mississippireview.com
105. Wandering Army
http://wanderingarmy.com
106. Sage of Consciousness
http://www.sageofcon.com
107. Underground Voices
http://www.undergroundvoices.com/
109. Blackbird : an online journal of literature and the arts
http://www.blackbird.vcu.edu/
110. Byzarium
http://www.byzarium.com
111. Barrelhouse
www.barrelhousemag.com
112. SNR Review
http://www.snreview
113. Nuvien
http://www.nuvein.org
114. Hobart
http://www.hobartpulp.com/
115. Black Biro
http://www.blackbiro.com/
116. Cautionary Tale
http://www.cautionarytale.com/
117. Clarkesworld
www.clarkesworldmagazine.com
118. Menda City Review
www.mendacitypress.com
119. Raging Face
http://www.ragingface.com/index.html
120. 971 Menu
www.971.menu
121. Juked
http://www.juked.com
122. Perigee
http://www.perigee-art.com/
123. Sugar Mule
http://www.sugarmule.com/issue1-4.htm
124. Lostwriters.net
http://www.lostwriters.net/
 

JeanneTGC

I *am* Catwoman...and Gini Koch
Super Member
Registered
Joined
Oct 23, 2006
Messages
7,676
Reaction score
5,781
Location
A Little South of Sanity
Website
www.ginikoch.com
New Market (Non-Paying)

We would like to announce that Raphael's Village (http://www.raphaelsvillage.com/index.php) is open for submissions.

Raphael’s Village is a site dedicated to improving the worldwide village one person at a time. As such, Raphael’s Village was developed to help our community heal by maximizing our relationships with each other and with our readers.

We welcome writers of all faiths, nationalities and persuasions, but ask that you please follow our Writer’s Contributions Guidelines (http://www.raphaelsvillage.com/stati...08082414522362).

We are currently accepting professional submissions of humor, poetry and short fiction for our Healing with Humor, Quiet Contemplations, and The NEW New Curiosity Shoppe forums. Please review our specific guidelines for these forums and take a look at our existing content before submitting.

We are unable to pay for contributions at this time. But hope is the thing with feathers and we do hope to be able to fly in the future.

If you have any questions not answered via the guidelines or the site itself, please send an email to [email protected]. Be sure to reference "RV: Submission Question" in your subject line.
 

Barpaio

Jam Diggity
Super Member
Registered
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
132
Reaction score
8
Awesome list, really appreciate it.
 

PeterL

Sockpuppet
Banned
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
1,129
Reaction score
91
Here is the list from the top note, alphabetized. A very useful tool is the searchable database of magazines at http://www.duotrope.com/index.aspx

Big Pond Rumours http://www.big-pond-rumours.com
Drunken Boat http://www.drunkenboat.com
In Posse http://webdelsol.com/InPosse/
The Deepening http://www.thedeepening.com
The Thrilling Detective http://www.thrillingdetective.com/
971 Menu www.971.menu
Adirondack Review http://www.adirondackreview.homestead.com
Alice Blue Review http://www.alicebluereview.org/main.html
Alsop Review www.alsopreview.com
anderbo.com http://www.anderbo.com
Apogee Magazine http://www.apogeemag.com/index.html
Arabesques http://www.arabesquespress.org/journal/
Arabesques Review http://www.arabesquespress.org
Archipelago www.archipelago.org/
Artistry of Life http://www.artistryoflife.org
Atomjack http://www.atomjackmagazine.com
Barcelona Review http://www.barcelonareview.com/
Barrelhouse www.barrelhousemag.com
Best Modern Fiction http://www.bestmodernfiction.com/
Bewildering Stories http://www.bewilderingstories.com
Black Biro http://www.blackbiro.com/
Blackbird : an online journal of literature and the arts http://www.blackbird.vcu.edu/
Blue Print Review http://www.blueprintreview.de
Buzzwords Magazine http://www.buzzwordsmagazine.co.uk
Byzarium http://www.byzarium.com
Carve Magazine http://www.carvezine.com
Cautionary Tale http://www.cautionarytale.com/
Cezanne’s Carrot http://www.cezannescarrot.org/
Cherry Bleeds http://www.cherrybleeds.com
Chick Flicks http://www.chickflicksezine.com/
Clarkesworld www.clarkesworldmagazine.com
Compass Rose http://compassrose.chestercollege.edu/
Conte: A Journal of Narrative Writing http://www.conteonline.net/
Crime and Suspense www.crimeandsuspense.com
Crimson Highway http://www.crimsonhighway.com
Demolition Magazine http://www.demolitionmag.com/103.
Demolition Magazine http://www.demolitionmag.com
Dogmatika http://dogmatika.com/
Double Dare Press http://www.doubledarepress.com
east of the web http://www.eastoftheweb.com/
Eclectica http://www.eclectica.org
Edifice Wrecked http://www.edificewrecked.com
Eyeshot http://eyeshot.net
failbetter.com http://www.failbetter.com/index.php
Fiction Warehouse http://www.fictionwarehouse.com/index.asp
Foliate Oak Online http://www.foliateoak.uamont.edu
Ghoti Magazine http://www.ghotimag.com
Hardluck Stories http://www.hardluckstories.com/zine.htm
Hobart http://www.hobartpulp.com/
In Posse Review http://www.webdelsol.com/InPosse/
Juked http://www.juked.com
Juked http://www.juked.com/index.html
Ken*again http://kenagain.freeservers.com/
Konundrum www.konundrum.com
Konundrum www.konundrum.com
Lablit.com http://www.lablit.com
LauraHird.com www.laurahird.com
Lit Dispatch http://litdispatch.net/dp/one/index.html
Literary Mama http://www.literarymama.com
Litro http://www.litro.co.uk
Lorelei Signal http://www.loreleisignal.com
Lostwriters.net http://www.lostwriters.net/
Menda City Review www.mendacitypress.com
Mississippi Review Online http://mississippireview.com
Mobius The Journal of Social Change http://www.mobiusmagazine.com/
Mom Writer’s Literary Magazine www.momwriterslitmag.com
Moondance: Celebrating Creative Women http://beta.moondance.org/index.html
Nonecludian Cafe
http://www.noneuclideancafe.com NOÖ Journal http://www.noojournal.com/
Nuvien http://www.nuvein.org
Our Stories http://www.ourstories.us/
Per Contra
http://www.percontra.net Perigee http://www.perigee-art.com/
Pindeldyboz http://pindeldyboz.com/
Pindeldyboz http://www.pindeldyboz.com
PoorMojo's Almanac http://www.poormojo.org/
R.KV.R.Y Quarterly http://www.ninetymeetingsinninetydays.com/
Raging Face http://www.ragingface.com/index.html
River Walk Journal http://riverwalkjournal.org
Sage of Consciousness http://www.sageofcon.com
San Francisco Bay Guardian http://www.sfbg.com/
Scarecrow http://www.hodmandod.blogspot.com/
Slow Trains Literary Journal http://www.slowtrains.com
SNR Review http://www.snreview
Southern Hum http://www.southernhum.com
Spinetingler http://www.spinetinglermag.com/
Spork www.sporkpress.com
Spork Press Weekly Fiction www.sporkpress.com
Story South http://www.storysouth.com
Storyglossia www.storyglossia.com
Storyglossia http://www.storyglossia.com
Strange Horizons http://www.strangehorizons.com
Sugar Mule http://www.sugarmule.com/issue1-4.htm
Summerset Review www.summersetreview.org
The Angler http://angler.donavanhall.net/?n=0
The Big Stupid Review http://thedrillpress.com
The Cynic Online Magazine http://www.cynicmag.com
The Furnace Review http://www.thefurnacereview.com/
The Hiss Quarterly http://www.hissquarterly.com/
The Hiss Quarterly http://thehissquarterly.net
The Morning News www.themorningnews.org
The Rose and Thorn Literary Ezine www.theroseandthornezine.com
The Scruffy Dog Review http://www.thescruffydogreview.com/
The Stickman Review http://www.stickmanreview.com
The Write Side Up http://writesideup.net/
Thieves Jargon http://thievesjargon.com
Thieves Jargon www.thievesjargon.com
Thieves Jargon www.thievesjargon.com
Thirst For Fire www.thirstforfire.com
ThugLit http://www.thuglit.com
TPQ OnLine http://tpqonline.org/
Underground Voices http://www.undergroundvoices.com/
Underground Voices http://www.undergroundvoices.com
Verbsap http://www.verbsap.com
VerbSap http://www.verbsap.com/
Wandering Army http://wanderingarmy.com
Wheelhouse Magazine http://www.wheelhousemagazine.com/
Whistling Shade http://www.whistlingshade.com/
Word Riot http://www.wordriot.org
Word Riot http://www.wordriot.org
Words without Borders http://www.wordswithoutborders.org/
writeThis http://www.writethis.com
Yankee Pot Roast ttp://www.yankeepotroast.org
 

augusto

Super Member
Registered
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Messages
611
Reaction score
80
Location
Minneapolis
Website
willtinkham.blogspot.com
Anderbo.com is listed on both these long lists and I've come across a contest where they want to 'post ONE unpublished entire novel for at least the following 6 months'. All literary rights remain with the author. How does something like this effect future publication? Would publishers frown on this sort of 'posting'? What if it's posted and one finds a real publisher within the six months?
 

T.W. Anderson

Registered
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Marginal Boundaries

Marginal Boundaries is a new quarterly publication featuring speculative fiction on a global basis. Issue One went on sale March 31st, 2010, and we are currently accepting submissions for Issue 2 and beyond.

In addition to quality speculative fiction, we also accept queries from artists who can include links to their portfolios or websites. For more information on rates of pay and exact submission details, head on over to our Submissions Guidelines page.

We are a green-oriented publication and at this time we are only selling our issues in PDF format. In addition, 100% of our submissions process and communication with authors and artists is done digitally; we do not believe in using hard-copy, nor do we want you to waste your time at the post office or spending ridiculous fees to send manuscripts.

Best of luck in your writing, and we hope to see your stories soon.



Issue_1-Cover1.jpg
 

kahless

New kid, be gentle!
Registered
Joined
Sep 6, 2010
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Location
Somerset UK
Great list but one question. Which accept fantasy shorts. More specific heroic fantasy, swords & sorcery type?
 

Chris_Wilkins

Learning all about this place
Super Member
Registered
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
76
Reaction score
0
Location
Switzerland
Website
www.sorcerytales.com
Great list but one question. Which accept fantasy shorts. More specific heroic fantasy, swords & sorcery type?

Kahless, I daresay you found an outlet for your fantasy short story a long time ago, but if you haven't and are still looking, www.sorcerytales.com would be delighted to have a look. It's a fantasy short story market but with a different way of doing things. ;)

Just thought I'd mention it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Hanukkah sameach!

Gold menorah and on a gradiated purple background