New here

editing_for_authors
Editing for authors: because every writer needs a good editor.

djdrysdale

Registered
Reaction score
Hi, everyone. I'm new around here. I've been writing my whole life in some form or another. When I was a kid I used to write stories all the time, but when I grew up, went to university (for a long time--I have a PhD in English lit), I stopped writing for fun quite as much. I never lost interest in it—every so often I'd go through a spell where I'd consume a lot of craft books with every intent of writing--but it was only in the past year and a half or so that I actually started writing again. First, I started a blog on professional topics (I work in the digital part of a large, non-digital company), and then earlier this year I finally started back into fiction.

I'm sitting on maybe 30 or 40,000 words of a first novel that I'm blocked on and trying to get back into after a few months away. It's a crossover fantasy novel that's heavily inspired by my love of the ocean and its lore while tackling father/son relationships and mental health. I feel like I have a better grasp on the theme right now than the plot, and I am working out how to tell the story I want to tell. I also have a concept for a sort of paranormal thriller that's been rattling around in my head for years but I've never done much with, yet. I'm not someone who deeply feels the need to find an audience or publish, but writing a novel is something I want to do, sort of to fulfill a promise to my much younger self who wanted to be an author when he grew up. My biggest challenges seem to be 1) getting my butt in the seat and 2) plotting. I have a great deal of information about structure but executing on it is another thing.

I'll read just about anything, but tend to migrate toward sci-fi, fantasy, and mystery stories.