My self-published novel is quite popular. Can I approach a traditional publisher with it?

editing_for_authors
Editing for authors: because every writer needs a good editor.

Blackwell

Registered
Reaction score
Hello friends, my name is Felix Blackwell. I'm a horror author.
I apologize if this question has been asked before!

My novel Stolen Tongues, as well as the short story series that preceded it, have become extraordinarily popular among internet horror readers and horror narration fans. It won a NoSleep contest and has become one of the most popular stories ever submitted to Reddit. Its many narrations have garnered millions of cumulative views on YouTube, along with some of my other writing. Some of my work has gone viral internationally, including Stolen Tongues in India. Another one of my stories became so sensational in China that the Chinese national government issued a decree (original story here).

One of my readers approached me recently and encouraged me to speak to a traditional publisher about getting Stolen Tongues properly represented / published. The truth is, I had never even considered this idea before, and I don't know if it's an option to me.

Is the notoriety of this book advantageous or detrimental to my effort to get a publisher to look at it?

Or otherwise, should I just try to get my forthcoming novel published instead?

thanks for the insights!

Reactions: cmhbob

lorna_w

grump
Registered
Reaction score
congratulations! They'll come to you, agents and publishers both. Think carefully about any offers, and get an entertainment attorney before you sign anything.

Reactions: cmhbob

stephenf

Registered
Reaction score
I'm no expert, but most publishers will want you to be the sole owner of the publishing rights. You will also need to stop the current method of publication. You have done all the hard work on your novel and you seem to have a successful product. Can you not write another novel?

Reactions: Cephus

lizmonster