• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

How Long Do Editors Take to Respond When You Send in Copy?

Noireazur

Registered
Reaction score
OK, before I ask these two questions, a couple of caveats.

I suffer from anxiety which can lead quickly into depression. It's a part of me and it's something I have to live with. However, one of the symptoms is catastrophising... big time! This might just be a case of that rearing its head again.

Also, I'm a relative newbie to this selling written work gig so it may also be inexperience banging its fist loudly.

I was commissioned to write an article for a leading magazine. The editor has, up until now, been pretty rapid (think hours) in responding to questions and providing information etc. However, since I sent my copy in a couple of days ago, I haven't heard anything. This was a couple of days before deadline. I was also told the picture desk would be in contact so I decided to be proactive and sent photos to the editor and said I'd happily also send them to the picture desk when I heard from it. I haven't heard back.

I sent a few short pitches, which I thought suited the magazine, with the copy too. I'm not worried about these. Obviously it would be nice to get them accepted but I think it's the feeling of seeing my written work in a major publication that would give me the needed confidence that I can do this.

Now thoughts are running through my head that maybe my writing is so awful, they've canned the piece and that I'm kidding myself if I think I can make a go of this.

I realise many people will read this and laugh thinking I'm being ridiculous but, given freelance writing is a solitary pursuit, there's no colleague to express a worry to and be reassured by. Yes, I do have to grow a thicker skin and stop being so precious but, given anxiety is a big part of my make up, it can be difficult.