Horror author here. Not sure if my fantasy novel is worth writing...

Blackwell

Registered
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm a horror author with three published works. One of them has really launched my career. I've always wanted to write a fantasy novel, but I'm not sure if it would have any appeal to fantasy readers. I wanted to ask this community for some pointers.

A long time ago, I created a 200-page treatment for what I believed (as a 17-year-old) would become a successful fantasy video game. That of course went nowhere, but I am still quite proud of the work I put into it. I ended up with a worldbuilt-universe, its peoples, and their many histories, but no plot at all.

Over the years I've mulled the idea of writing a proper novel within that universe. The plot consists of two men from enemy civilizations meeting each other under odd circumstances in a strange place. The entire book is just the week they spend together on a journey through the countryside, where very little in the way of action happens, but a great deal of conversation and self-exploration occurs. It's a contemplative work about the role of memory in self-delusion, politics, and culture. The "action" sequences are all flashbacks and nightmares of the characters.

I think I've got a compelling set of characters and an "interesting" plot, but it certainly won't be action-packed. Is this something I should be concerned about?

Brightdreamer

Just Another Lazy Perfectionist
Registered
Reaction score
Website
brightdreamersbookreviews.blogspot.com
It's possible to write good introspective fantasy, certainly. Not every fantasy story needs to be nonstop action. And action in flashback counts as action.