• Guest please check The Index before starting a thread.

atmosphere press

editing_for_authors
Editing for authors: because every writer needs a good editor.

bauman

Registered
Reaction score
Anybody ever heard of Atmosphere Press? It's a hybrid publisher of sorts. I'm a book editor and one of my author clients received an invitation to publish with them. Said it would cost her about $5,000, but it isn't clear exactly what she would get for that. Thanks for any feedback about this company. It was started in 2015.

Maryn

Fully Autumnal
Staff member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
If it's going to cost your client $5,000, we can safely assume it's a vanity press and to be avoided.

We don't have this one listed at Bewares, Recommendatios, & Background Check, where our members share information about various publishing businesses. Here's their website: https://atmospherepress.com/

I'm pleased to see an editor looking out for their author client, and I really wish you could impress upon them that they need to do their due diligence with any potential publisher. It should have sent a red flag waving that Atmosphere Press contacted your author client rather than the other way around.

Maryn, glad to meet you

Maggie Maxwell

Making Einstein cry since 1994
Registered
Reaction score
Website
thewanderingquille.blogspot.com
Good publishers pay you. Readers are the customer, so they are encouraged to make sales. Bad publishers ask you to pay. You are the customer, so why would they ever be encouraged to sell your book when they've already been paid? Tell her to walk away and never look back.

Richard White

Stealthy Plot Bunny Peddler
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.richardcwhite.com
I've been beating this drum, but in my opinion, there are hybrid authors (trade and self-published), but there's no such thing as hybrid publisher. As soon as they ask the author to pay for anything, they've moved into vanity publishing.