• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Any folks know of or interested in starting a writer's group in the Bay Area, California?

editing_for_authors
Editing for authors: because every writer needs a good editor.

Status
Not open for further replies.

metamemoir

Banned
Reaction score
Website
thegreatamericanmemoir.com
Hello.

I am an aspiring writer.

I would love to form a writer's group that meets regularly (I have a spacious dining room in the Sunset near West Portal with a large round ... oblong ... table that can accommodate at least a dozen folks comfortably. In other words, I am able to host)

I am currently working on a memoir project. I'm not going to lie, I do hope some knowledgeable more seasoned writing vets are out there and interested. Hopefully you can impart some of your knowledge on us more fledgling writers. In exchange I'll provide refreshments.

I am very serious about my project, and would like to connect with others who are also serious. As in, perhaps, hoping to complete a full piece of work and try to get published on day.

I'm not sure how poetry fits in. Although my personal project is creative non-fiction, I'm sure fiction could blend well.

I hope to forge a bit of pressure for the participants. That is, having a light deadline for possibly sharing and workshopping pieces. I personally thrive off negative criticism, so I don't really desire a group of thin-skinned dilettantes looking for affirmation no matter what they present. I'd like it to be a safe bastion of constructive criticism.

I most look forward to discussions, questions about the craft, etc. We don't necessarily need to always be sharing and workshopping. We could spend sessions discussing different issues we are encountering with our projects. It would be nice to gather a group of diverse people with various experiences in writing so that we all have something to offer and share while gaining from others' backgrounds.