Location Abomination Mortification

Holly Green

Registered
Reaction score
A few days ago I discovered--to my absolute horror--that what I had written as my location,"where the bugs are," actually had a link...which took me to a google map with adverts for pest control services.

WTF...How did this happen???? (Yeah, I know, it happened because I'm a dumbarse who still doesn't understand how the internet works. Doh.)

I adore bugs and have deleted it now, but hoping I didn't inadvertently provide the exterminators with any business...also hoping no one here clicked on it and thought I kill bugs for a living...

Holly's Helpful Hint for the Week is--you might wanna check to make sure you don't have a Location Abomination as well. If you do discover something unintended, or freaky, please report back, so we can be dumbarses together.:)

Also, the title of this thread bothers me. Did I stuff that up too? Should I change it to Mortification: Location Abomination? Or some other combination I haven't thought of yet?

Going down to the garden now to look at worms, because that always soothes me...

Helix

socially distancing
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
snailseyeview.medium.com
I just clicked on mine (Far North Queensland) and I get a map with two obvious pins:

RSL Queensland -- Far Northern Division (RSL = Returned and Services League. It's an organisation for armed forces personnel.) It's in Cairns, which is the only city in FNQ, so points for that.

Mitchell Grass plains just west of Torrens Creek, in the arse end of nowhere, which is labelled North Queensland. Wikipedia helpfully describes North Queensland as:

North Queensland or the Northern Region is the northern part of the Australian state of Queensland that lies just south of Far North Queensland.

Could have pinned Townsville, which is an actual city, but no. West of Torrens Creek it is.

mccardey

Self-Ban
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score