How come this category isn't as busy?

crazywritingmom

Complete NEWBIE
Registered
Reaction score
This forum is a hoppin' but the memoir area seems a little...lllooonnneellllyyy.

Is it that memoirs are not in season right now???

Where are all the memoir writers...?

I'm working away.

I finished a version of my story. 1st draft. HORRIBLE. It's hard to write something so personal.

Now I'm redoing it. Rearranging the sequence and changing the way I write it.

POV's scare me to death. All this discussion about what POV and how do I know if I've changed POV in a way that's sloppy? Ay yi yi

Right now I'm writing in first person obviously...

Writing it as if I'm telling the story, but not really writing it with my present thoughts mixed into the past.

I don't know. How does everyone else write their memoirs?

Ruth2

Tam, na Koncu Drevoreda
Registered
Reaction score
Memoir, Biography and autobiography are never as busy. Not even close.

I'm writing my memoir in first person, present tense. I'm about 32K into it. Halfway, more or less.

crazywritingmom

Complete NEWBIE
Registered
Reaction score
present tense huh? That seems tricky. How to keep your hindsight from eeking in. Don't you feel limited?

thothguard51

A Gentleman of a refined age...
Registered
Reaction score
The memoirs market is saturated with celebrity memoirs and self help books right now, not to mention the self pubbed memoirs out there that are not selling in any great numbers. More so than the market can bare for the number of readers who like this kind of genre, or so I have read.

Ruth2

Tam, na Koncu Drevoreda
Registered
Reaction score
jdeneen4-- So far it's not been a problem. The memoir starts at a certain point. Anything before that is past tense; anything after it is present tense. It's humorous, which helps.

Siri Kirpal

Swan in Process
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Sat Nam! (literally "Truth Name"--a Sikh greeting)