The Dark Side of Kindle Publishing

Status
Not open for further replies.

12 stepper

Registered
Reaction score
This is not a normal place for me to post I am about as far from being a writer as Bret Favre is for being a poster boy for proper conduct with members of the opposite sex but I just personally feel a pull to share a story that might be impacting others and a warning to those yet not impacted.

By profession I am a substance abuse counselor and in my spare time offer my services to many as a personal sponsor to those going thru the 12 steps and trying to maintain there sobriety recently at a 12 step meeting I encountered a individual which I had only talked to in passing but this night he seemed to need a ear to bend after the meeting so we agreed to meet for coffee after the meeting.

It seems this individual had painted himself into a corner with his wife and family his career and finances and facing a crisis with his 4 years of being clean and sober and his story goes as follows …

Due to his shaky work past and a degree in English gotten some time ago he turn to writing as a means to support his wife and family and having some success of selling a few articals here and there and short story once in a while he came across the ideal of self publishing on amazon for owners of e readers kindles I guess they are called as away for his many novels that had never seen the light of day. After visiting the websites and blogs of those who seem to be the leaders of encouraging writers to join the growing list over at amazon he posted his books and waited for the money to roll in but nothing seemed to happen at first and he began to doubt if this was going to work.

Until a exchange of emails of one of these leaders did he learn how to make it work and this is what the leader told him he needed to do and I hope I explain it clearly and you all more then likely understand it better then I.