What to do with the giant on your laptop (or when a novel can't get shorter)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rhoda Nightingale

Vampire Junkie
Registered
Reaction score
^Yeah, I think I'm confusing it with something else. *goes to lurk the "Learning to Plot" thread*

Slushie

Custom User Title
Registered
Reaction score
...I think Rhoda was responding to Linda Adams' shoehorn.

Rhoda Nightingale

Vampire Junkie
Registered
Reaction score
Yeah I was directing that at Linda, hence the quote. Honestly I have no clue how to respond to "add more plot," except to just blink at the screen.

Linda Adams

Soldier, Storyteller
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.linda-adams.com
So, you're saying add a subplot? I know that's just one suggestion, and maybe this is me reacting to seeing lots of unnecessary subplots that made no sense, but when I hear "subplot" my instinct is to recoil slightly...

Me, too. I was a short story writer first, so it was a hard concept to get--especially seeing books where the subplot felt like it was padding the story. But a novel isn't a long short story, so subplots are part of that.

Because I am plot-driven, I also found that I had to use plot-focused subplots, rather then the more traditional character arc ones (i.e, romance, problem in the characer's life, etc.). Once I identified that, I discovered that I already had vague hints of one in place--just undeveloped. It follows along so closely to the story that I actually mistook it for being another element of the main storyline. Since then, I've added a second one, also plot-focused that added a new complication in the main story.

Rhoda Nightingale

Vampire Junkie
Registered
Reaction score
Ah--see, I'm more character-driven when I write. Maybe that's part of the problem.

Albannach

AW Addict
Registered
Reaction score