Overtyping in FD

zahra

Was Zahra; lost profile - REBORN!
Registered
Reaction score
Hi. FD 7 - I want to do overtypes the way you can with Word if you hit the Insert button on your keyboard, but can't seem to figure out how to do it. Driving me nuts. Any ideas? I'm new to FD, but I've gone through the Help menu and nothing's coming up as a solution.

Help appreciated.

Thank you.

zahra

Was Zahra; lost profile - REBORN!
Registered
Reaction score
Oh. That's weird and annoying.

So, like, if I've written 'He runs down the corridor but drops his umbrella' and I want to change it to 'He strolls along the seafront but drops his umbrella', I can't set the cursor to the beginning, hit 'insert' or whatever, and just type over til I get to the words I want to keep?

Pah. I'd have thought that would have been an included feature. Oh, well. Thanks, PD.

Plot Device

A woman said to write like a man.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
sandwichboardroom.blogspot.com
Yeah--there are a few "anti-idiot" features in FD that prevent you from accidentally deleting stuff you didn't mean to delete, and I guess that's one of them.

Another such feature is the inability to delete huge blocks of text all at once. You have to do it small chunks at a time.

Joe Calabrese

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.josephcalabrese.com
As a beta tester I feel your pains. Overstrike is not a feature in FD although it may end up in a future version since that is a feature I make a stink about.

Zahra, if I want to change a word in a sentence, I usually double click on the old word to select it and then type the new one right in its place. The same can be for whole paragraphs (triple click). You can also take the mouse and click at one part of a line and drag to select as much of the words as you want. I find it bearable.

And Plot, You can delete paragraphs all the way to entire scenes if you want. Not sure what you are referring to.

Plot Device

A woman said to write like a man.
Registered