The 2022 AW Reading Challenge! Turning the page on a new year.

oneblindmouse

The new me
Registered
Reaction score
It is. I've had him recommended to me a couple of times, but thus far I'm finding his world building a bit sloppy and his writing style irritating. He's not only used the "have your protag look in a mirror to describe themselves" trope, he's also committed the cardinal sin of cutting away just as a huge, important confrontation with the Big Bad is beginning, then having the next chapter begin with the protag regaining consciousness in a hospital bed and recounting that battle. It's clunky as hell, particularly given that when describing the battle, the protag isn't talking like a human being would talk - she's essentially speaking narrative. It's as if he wrote the confrontation scene, then decided to have her tell it afterward instead, but didn't bother to rewrite it so it sounded real.

Maybe this kind of thing is acceptable to the average reader, but as a writer, I was really put off by it.
I find Fforde very witty, and his writing is full of puns and obscure literary references (I'm sure I miss a lot of them), but I ended up finding his stories a bit stale.

Reactions: mrsmig

Siri Kirpal

Swan in Process
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I've begun book #2, Jasper Fforde's The Eyre Affair. Thus far, I confess I'm not liking it much.
Sat Nam! (Literally "Truth Name"--a Sikh greeting)

I've read it and liked it and one other of his books, but you really need to be in a mood for his madcap brand of humor to enjoy them.

Blessings,

Siri Kirpal

Gatteau

Registered
Reaction score