Hello - Introduction post!

Alugalug

Registered
Reaction score
Hi,

Creative writing can be lonely and to combat that I've done a lot of co-writing in the past. That hasn't always worked out for the the best. I want to write by myself in the future - and I'm hoping this forum can provide the advice and companionship I used to get from my co-writers going forward!

I write fiction, poetry, plays, and screenplays. I've had my short fiction published in some of the leading journals in Australia - and one of my plays won a government grant and was put up at one of Australia's leading theatre venues.

My screenplays have won big gov grants, and I'm trying to get people introduced in producing and directing them at the mo.

My first novel is being sent to publishing houses at the moment without much success so far but I'm hopeful! It was longlisted for a major Aussie award.

I'm an editor at a literary journal. I also write a lot of reviews of theatre and books.

Really looking forward to hearing from you - and if you have any suggestions about what sections of the site I should check out I would really appreciate it!!

Thank you!!!

Reactions: Izz and mccardey

mccardey

Self-Ban
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Hi there - lovely to see another Australian on the boards. We're planning an Insurrection if we can get the numbers up - but don't tell anyone... ;)

Nether

has been brought to a creepy mansion in a cemetery
Registered
Reaction score
Welcome.

Creative writing can be lonely and to combat that I've done a lot of co-writing in the past. That hasn't always worked out for the the best. I want to write by myself in the future - and I'm hoping this forum can provide the advice and companionship I used to get from my co-writers going forward!

Personally, I can't imagine co-writing, since creative control is part of the appeal of writing.