Status
Not open for further replies.

Tburger

Wahoowa
Registered
Reaction score
Website
tcmccarthy.com
OK. So I just finished a sci-fi novel, which I wrote in part because I'm tired of reading about certain things when it comes to genetic engineering/clones in military sci-fi. A lot of the books out there (Star War series, Stephen L Kent's books, etc.) make the following assumptions about clones:

1. You can "program" them (not to disobey orders, to obey catch-phrase commands, etc. - like a Manchurian Candidate type scenario)
2. They're all identical, but they have been programmed (a) not to recognize that they look like the others (b) to think they're really humans, but everyone else wround them is a clone.
3. They are programmed to die if they realize they're a clone.

And there are more but I'm tired.

I have a PhD and some background in complex biotech, and I find it hard to swallow a future in which these things are plausible. WOuldn't a bunch of clones get together in the barracks and start talking about how they're the only human and the rest are clones? Then wouldn't the others say, "hold on, I'm not a clone, you are!" At that point, wouldn't they all keel over dead? How do you "program" someone to die when they think something?

Look, I'm biased. There is only so much you can do to make a military sci-fi novel different from the others; the principles of infantry combat are pretty much the same: kill the enemy while trying not to get killed. But I tried to incorporate the following in my novel to set it apart from what has been done:

1. Clones know they're clones; they can see themselves in a mirror!
2. Clones are human with some modifications to make them (a) more tolerant of CBW environments, (b) resistant to infection, and (c) able to surivive in wider temperature ranges.
3. Clones are force fed a combination of pseudo-religion and a controlled upbringing to make assault a thing to crave, not fear.