PDA

View Full Version : Using real people

book_maven
04-02-2005, 06:18 AM
I have begun a thriller based on an international incident that took place in the 20th century. A couple of the people involved are still alive. These were politicians, advisors and high-level military people for the most part in both America and the other country.

The idea is that my story is the "real" story, that the actual incident was a cover-up. I intend to have these people act as I believe they would have acted were this real. Does anyone think there might be potential problems using the real people and their names?

I realize, of course, that should this book interest a publisher, they will run it by their legal department. I also know that opinions on here are just that. Nevertheless, I am interested in others' views on this question.

Natalia
04-02-2005, 09:23 PM
Maven-

I am not a lawyer and cannot advise you on these issues and I woul actually suggest that before you make such decisions you consult someone on the legalities of libel and so on.

That said. There is something to be said for people's stature. Public figures, as opposed to private citizens, and especially politicians have their likelihood portrayed and their lives and actions examined constantly. It would seem that if yours is a thriller, a work of fiction, you could indeed use them without much of an issue. You could, however, choose to create a whole different group of politicians with hints of who it is you are indeed referring to.

One of my short stories was based on something that happened to me. I kept the situations pretty much intact but I did not include the person's name. This makes it hard for them to claim that what I said about them could harm them in any way.

I hope this starts to shed some light. It is really only my opinion. But I would consult a lawyer.

-N

Maryn
04-03-2005, 10:18 PM