Parenting = dirty work

cethklein

Registered
Reaction score
Ok, I've had to do some things I didn't want to in life. But what happened yesterday ranks among the worst. My 2 month old son is constipated. He doesn't seem overly bothered by this fact, but it is clear that he is. This is our first child so I am pretty new to all this. But God apparently decided to make us jump right in to the whole affair of parenting.

We called the doctor to ask what we should do. He has an apointment Friday but I'm worried. They told us to just keep feeding him (he's fulkly breast fed) and it will likely resolve itself. But there was anothr measure we could take to possibly rectify (no put intended) the situation.

We were told to take a q-tip and put a dab of Vasoline on it and stick it gently rub it in his butt. Ok, I can handle a lot of things, honestly I can, but this was likely more traumatic for me than him. (he actually just kind of laid there although he gave me an odd look when I did it.). It didn't help although it did generate some rather....unique, flatulance. (apparently whatever my wife ate made it through her milk and into him, it was obviously something ripe.)

This whole incident was very enlgihtening. After having essentially had to violate my own infant son, I feel I am now more enlightened (but also fully traumatized) than I was just 24 hours ago. Why do babies do things like this? Why can't they just..........not have things like this happen? Is this the worst thing I'll ever have to do? I hope so. Please tell me I'll never have ot do anything worse than this. Please.

It's still traumatic to me. The cold hard fact is that yesterday, April 9th 2008, I had to put a q-tip in my poor, innocent, never-hurt-anyone-in-his -life son's butt. Maybe I'm just weak, but this whole thing has changed my life.

Yeshanu

Elf Queen
Registered
Reaction score