Query letters are a waste of time

Status
Not open for further replies.

Appalachian Writer

Somewhere in the hills....
Registered
Reaction score
I can not believe it! When I think of the countless rejections I could have avoided, I could just kick myself or worse.:e2hammer:

Marian Perera

starting over
Registered
Reaction score
Heaven is a place on earth called Toronto.
Website
www.marianperera.com
That ad is just all sorts of wrong.

I am a self-published author

Why would an agent want such a book, unless it did really well?

seeking industry representation from a literary agent. I am looking for someone who has experience distributing/selling children's literary works.

Distributing? And "children's literary works" makes me think of material written by children, instead of for children, though in this case I may not be wrong.

This offer is open to experience agents only.

Nuff said.

inkkognito

Onlyifyouwanttowillyoufin daway-Enya
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.barbnefer.com
Queen, you beat me to it in posting that "experience agents" line.

But hey, can you imagine the excitement of getting multiple responses from all those experience agents and being the one to be able to do the rejecting? 'Cause I'm sure they're going to come out of the woodwork to represent this person's work.

Birol

Around and About
Registered
Reaction score
Nah. I bet even those agents and publishers that are truly scams don't go looking for manuscripts. Why would they? That's an unnecessary expense of time and energy. Why expend the effort when more than enough uninformed individuals come on their own?