Quoting vs. Permission

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eussie

Banned
Reaction score
Website
www.unendinglove.com
I am putting together my first non-fiction book. I am a good non-fiction writer in the academic sense and I've written many, many academic papers. However, I realize that the business world differs from college.

If I quote someone directly in my non-fiction book, do I have to ask for permission?

If I say something like ("many agents prefer authors not to use butterfly clips, including Andy Zack and George Silverstein...") do I need to do anything here?

In other words, MLA and APA are all commonly used in college and I can deal with those, but what do I do with 'real-life' (my St. Martin's guide to writing isn't helping much, lol)

Cheers
Eussie

TashaGoddard

Away with the fairies
Registered
Reaction score
It depends on what type of non-fiction it is really. Generally speaking, brief quotes don't need permission; longer ones may need permission. How you reference them will depend on the publisher, the subject, the market (most of all the publisher, though!). The best thing to do is keep detailed notes of where all quotes come from (which you will be used to doing already in academia) and then you will be in the position to provide what is required by the specific publisher, when it is accepted. (This is assuming that you're writing on spec and not to a commission - if you're writing to a commission, ask for the publisher's guidelines on how to reference material and what will or won't need permission.)

zeprosnepsid

Registered
Reaction score
well if they said it in public it's probably all good. For instance, if they say it on their website and it's their official position, you wouldn't need to ask I don't think. But if they say it here on this board, and they're not saying it under an official context, it might be good to ask.