PDA

View Full Version : Selling tech manuals

Kahaar
04-02-2008, 09:30 PM
Hello, I am new to AW forum. I am an accredited and experienced welder and recently have revised a technical manual for alloy welding application and process. I would like to sell the manual to private trade school, someday, but not sure what pitfalls may wait.

Being a babe in the woods, I wonder about if it is smart to self publish the manual(s) first to protect ownership before flogging it? There are other things I am not aware of in terms of publishing, or attempting to publish anything.

I will read this forum section to garner further insight. If you have sensible advice please feel free sharing your opinion. please be kind.

Kahaar
04-03-2008, 12:53 AM
For clarity, if possible, the manual in question is a practical procedure guide for a specific welding process. It covers physical theory, application, machine unit settings procedure replete with explanation step by step. Almost a "dunnies" how-to book.

I have never published before, nor am I soliciting referrals. Just asking what you veterans might suggest. If the suggestion is nothing at all, then that is the way the cookie crumbles.

As I said, I am new to this forum and to the notion of perhaps making billions of dollars writing technical manuals. If this post strikes in a way that seems I want someone to do my homework for me, I apologize. Just fishing for insight.

Tsu Dho Nimh
04-03-2008, 04:04 AM
Are there companies that publish welding manuals? If so, they are the first place to market.

Another route is to put the procedure (if it's not too long) on a website and get Google adsense ads on there.

Kahaar
04-04-2008, 03:52 AM
Thanks for the response. The manual is roughly 4000 words long. I've revised to make it this short. I have thoughts of self publishing and flogging it to private trade schools/institutes that deal specifically with welding.