Not open for further replies.

Plot Device

A woman said to write like a man.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
sandwichboardroom.blogspot.com
Hi guys,

I have been caring for my mom for two years now and the past two months she has really gone down hill.

I have been screaming to my brothers for these two years that she needs to go into assisted living, and only NOW are they starting to take me seriously. But as of this week, I'm starting to think it's too late.

Twenty years ago, I responded to a family request to temporarilly move out of my family's house and go to stay with another relative to help them with the growing burden of caring for my grandmother (my mom's mom). I did so for the two months prior to that grandmpther's eventual death. The upshot of that ordeal was that by moving in with that other relative, I wound up getting saved.

Meanwhile, all these years later, I am right now seeing some of the same signs in my mother as what I saw in Gramma right before she passed away. The past two weeks has been a severe decline in so many of her abilities and even desires to function. Even her willinglness to bathe and eat has practically shut down. She's lost so much weight from not eating. And if she doesn't eat, she doesn't take her pills. I make food for her, and an hour later I go back to check on her, and MAYBE she took one bite, and the pills did not get taken at all. For the past week I have been constantly in the bathroom, wordlessly cleaning up attrocious messes she has been leaving behind all over the toilet and the floor. She hasn't been doing her nails, so yesterday I spent an hour clipping them and filing them so she she could use her hands again.