• Read this stickie before posting.

• In order to reduce the number of new members requesting a Beta reader before they're really ready for one, we've instituted a 50 post requirement before you can start a thread seeking a Beta reader.
    • You can still volunteer to Beta for someone else; just please don't request someone to Beta for you until you're more familiar with the community and our members.

Looking for a mentor to help get me through my first book

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dana Beren Watts

Registered
Reaction score
I've been writing this novel for about three years now. The thing is I'm only on the fifth chapter. I have a ton of ideas and the plot/chronology worked out but I guess I spend so little time writing that it's taking me forever. I've tried to get feedback and critique in the past but was for the most part unsuccessful. A friend told me to look up Beta Readers and I found this site which looks promising. I'd really like to find a mentor (someone to kick me in gear and lead me away from pitfalls) but at this point I'll take whatever I can get. The book is fiction, it's dark, blends several genres and covers such issues as: the environment, religion, mental health and human worth. I think it's at least an entertaining read so far but I know it can be much better.

Phaeal

Whatever I did, I didn't do it.
Registered
Reaction score
Welcome to AW, Dana. :)

The whole site is a mentor. Start reading for info and inspiration!

Here's my opening advice:

Write a minimum of 250 words a day. 500 words are better. 1000 words will give you a novel draft in 2-3 months.

and

First drafts are allowed to be crap. In the first draft, do not look back, do not edit, do not stop. If you look over your shoulder, you may turn into a pillar of salt.

and

Post a chapter of your novel in the Share Your Work (SYW) forum. This will give people an idea of your style and the book's content.

dirtsider

Not so new, really
Registered
Reaction score