• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Writing about scenes that you haven't been to.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Exir

Out of the cradle endlessly rocking
Registered
Reaction score
I am writing a scene in my story of a lake lined with Maple trees. The problem is, I've never been to such a lake before, but my mind strongly desires for the scene to be set in such an environment. I do have a clear picture of the place, but the problem is, I'm afraid my mind's eye might play tricks on me. For example, what if I make the character walk right into a tree? Or right into the middle of the lake? Or if the position of the little boat in the middle of the lake suddenly changes midscene?

Should I look at a picture, and describe it? Or should I actually draw it myself? (I'm a poor artist, though). What should I do? Do some research?

dpaterso

Also in our Discord and IRC chat channels
Staff member
Super Moderator
Registered
Reaction score
Website
derekpaterson.net
Hard to take your questions seriously, Exir.

Don't make your character walk into a tree.

Don't make your character walk into the lake.

Take control of your writing. You are the puppet master, not the puppet.

Google search results for: lake shore

-Derek

Mr Flibble

They've been very bad, Mr Flibble
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
We couldn't possibly do that. Who'd clear up the m
Website
francisknightbooks.co.uk
You don't have to be a great artist just to plan it out, if that's going to help you work out where everything is

A wibbly line round the edge of the lake, X's for trees, whathave you. As long as you are clear where things are. It's not like they are going to put it in the front of the book ala Tolkien.

Mumut

Well begun is half done...
Registered
Reaction score