• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Using names of songs

Status
Not open for further replies.

sissybaby

Registered
Reaction score
I can't find a thread on this so I'm sorry if there is one.

If I use a sentence like "The Beatles were belting out Twist and Shout on the radio, do I italicize the song name? Also, do I have to use a bibliography or something if I use little factoids that are fairly common knowledge, like blurbs about a specific Civil War general or something like that?

I just don't know these things since I've never done them before. Thanks for any comments.

maestrowork

Fear the Death Ray
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.amazon.com
Names and titles are fine. Lyrics, however, need permission. Titles are italicized. And you don't need bibliography for fiction.

jst5150

Vorpal Comics. Weekly Podcast. Twitch Artist. Vet
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
jasontudor.com
AP Style: Use quotes around a song title. Capitalize all words over four letters and the prepositions if they are on the beginning and end. However, your eventual publisher might differ with this style. Go with the publisher's, since you're taking his check. :)

If your 'factoid' is common knowledge (i.e., it does not require attribution), then you're fine, esp. if this is a work of fiction. :) You're making it up. You can add a forward or something that might say where you drew your facts from. However, that's your call. For nonfiction, I'd think it's a must. But, based on your post, sounds like a fiction piece.

You're going to do fine. Just write it down and make the corrections in the editing phases. ;)

Last edited:

taloom

Sockpuppet
Banned
Reaction score
The standard is album titles are in italics, songs in quotes. Thus:

Joe was listening to "Money" from The Dark Side Of The Moon.

But again, check with your publisher for their exact style.

Maryn

Sees All
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor