• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

How to figure out my novel's audience?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julia

Registered
Reaction score
Hello,

This is my first post. I am a big reader (everything literary and non-fiction, but not so much fantasy/SF) and have been writing since I was a child. I am now in my 20s and writing my first real novel, meaning: the first novelistic project that actually went beyond 60 pages and that I absolutely, unconditionally intend to finish because the story grips me to the soul since I have been brewing it in my head for the last 5 years. I have been writing for a year now but with a 4 months hiatus in the Fall due to studies that have now ended. I can now concentrate on this writing business for the rest of my life (while working full-time)!

Since I have a specific question to ask, I will try to put out the synopsis of my novel for you: the main character is an adolescent girl who is sent to live out-of-town with her extended family. She is sent there because she had problems in school and has to change school. In her new town, she discovers two friends, one male the other female, with their own stories of why they were sent to this school which is itself very peculiar, much like an alternative underground educational establishment.

She also meets the locals who have very special stories to recount about the town and my main character's family which harbors a secret about one of its member. As she discovers more on that family member, my protagonist goes on a search for more family stories across town and discovers a keepsake that was left after the family member disappeared.