Status
Not open for further replies.

William Cook

Happy to be here
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.amazon.com
I'm writing a series based around the Monmouth Rebellion and the Glorious Revolution when William Duke of Orange ousted James11 - One of the lovely things about the Internet is having wikipedia so close to hand for historical correctness. I suppose all of you use it?

Marlys

Resist. Love. Go outside.
Registered
Reaction score
I might use it as a starting point, or to jog my memory for something I already know (date or other factoid). But while studies show that Wikipedia is about as accurate overall as Encyclopedia Britannica, there's always the chance that an uncorrected error has been posted. So I wouldn't use it as my only, or even my primary source.

Zelenka

Going home!
Registered
Reaction score
I don't write historical fiction any more but I am still studying history and use Wikipedia occasionally to check dates or small details (I don't admit to this in the bibliography though ;) ). I'd agree with Marlys - when I'm researching a topic, it's a good place to start to get an idea of what to research in depth. It's also quite good for its 'external links' sections a lot of the time. I did a lot of work once on extinct European languages and found a lot of dictionary sites, that sort of thing from those links.

Pup

Registered
Reaction score
I might use it as a starting point, or to jog my memory for something I already know (date or other factoid). But while studies show that Wikipedia is about as accurate overall as Encyclopedia Britannica, there's always the chance that an uncorrected error has been posted. So I wouldn't use it as my only, or even my primary source.