PDA

View Full Version : As the PAMB turns!

TwentyFour
03-13-2008, 05:59 AM
Far as I know, many of the major PA supporters are all on Search inside, check out the old pipesmoking man, the duck lady, and the teacher...all on this and all say they sell well.

acrooker
03-13-2008, 06:16 AM
It's a very good thing I came here. I have truly learned. It is amazing to me that you care so deeply. You care about people you have never met. I find it hard to understand, but what else is new?

You are correct about many things. One of you was insightful enough to say I was not a serious writer. He was so right. I am not a writer--serious or otherwise. I am a retired Accountant.

PA produced a book for me that I am very happy with. I hired an editor and did not have PA edit anything. The book is fine and anything wrong with it is my fault, not theirs. Their message board is no fun, but not in their contract.

As far as bookstores go, for some odd reason my book is in a Barnes and Noble bookstore. I had nothing to do with the placement of it there. There are six copies on their shelves.

For some reason, so far, Book authors seem to be a very difficult bunch of people to deal with. In this category I do not place professional writers. Professional writers seem to have a much more realistic view of what to expect.

Can you imagine the difficulty of deaing with thousands of people who wrote something and thought it was wonderful?

If you were to have only one percent of authors disgruntled--with PA that would be at least 230 authors.

230 authors can raise quite a ruckous.

My final point, one of you was wise and said I should help people with Parkinson's disease. I do that. The doctors have people call me and I visit and support them. I give them a copy of my book--beats handing them a rumpled up manuscript! To further add to your enjoyment, I was in the VM Hspital 6:30 am yesterday morning with a pre-surgery patient.