PDA

View Full Version : What's your writing/editing regime?

juneafternoon
03-13-2008, 12:58 AM
I'm sure this thread is a carbon body of about a trillion others, but never mind :)

I've struggled with first drafts for a while now, and I tried to take all the sage advice offered to me here. The "first draft ugly" thing. And it worked... for a while. Then I realized I am a better writer when I edit as I go.

Now, I go pieces by pieces (usually chapters) and write, edit, rewrite, etc. It's working :) And yeah, I'll do a load of rewrites later, but this process gets the writing going!

So, my question is: how do you write?

Shadow_Ferret
03-13-2008, 01:16 AM
Psst. I think you mean regimen. A regime is something we try to overthrow. :)

I used to write alittle, edit it, write a little, edit it, until I realized I had stopped writing a little and just kept editing the same few pages over and over again.

So now I write until I'm finished and then I start to edit. Oh, sometimes I can't resists a small edit of a few paragraphs, but usually I don't start editing until I've typed, 'The End.'

CasualObserver
03-13-2008, 01:24 AM
I read/crit for others during the day and write at night. Every 3000 words or so I send off what I've got to have it critted/looked over. If I get stuck I go back and edit with the critter's recommendations in mind, or things I know I didn't like as I did them. If I get really stuck I find someone to talk plot points with. When the WIP is finished I shelve it for a couple of months and then edit. (Or, in the case of the current WIP, I decide the thing needs an entire rewrite and start again from scratch. Sucks.)

Mr Flibble
03-13-2008, 01:36 AM