Dissociative Identity Disorder

Jenifer

Now with extra neurotic filling.
Registered
Reaction score
In a case where the disorder manifested very late in life due to extreme stress, what kind of outward signs would typically be seen? Or not so typically?

I'd like to work in things like tics and emotionally triggering words in addition to recurring headaches. Oh, and I'd also like to see the frequency of these things escalate as the activities of the alter do.

Believability factor? Win, fail?

Craig Gosse

Bored fanatic
Registered
Reaction score
You may wish to contact specifically:

Hi all

I'm a psychologist but also have personal experience of mental illness. My subjects are:

Mental Health
  • alcoholism
  • addiction
  • depression
  • anxiety
  • bipolar
  • obsessive compulsive disorder
  • panic disorder
  • personality disorders e.g. narcissism, borderline, avoidant etc
  • eating disorders
Other personality/psychology
  • compulsive spending
  • shopaholics
  • emotional eating
  • personality types
Plus dog behvaiour/psychology :D

I also have a commerce degree so I do money management from the "rational" and "irrational" perspectives

Jenifer

Registered
Reaction score

Jenifer

Registered
Reaction score
I did find a link that I hadn't run across yet within that thread, thanks. :)

It doesn't really help me with symptoms, though, which were what I was looking for.

Jenan Mac

The Deadliest Bunny
Registered
Reaction score
Losing time would be a big one: your character would have no clue where the afternoon went. Trouble making financial records (banks, credit cards) balance because of purchases not remembered-- particularly problematic if one of the "kids" knows how to use an ATM card and there's a shop within walking distance. (How did I get twenty-seven Webkinz?) Acquaintances acting funny because of things you did that you don't remember-- or people you don't think you know treating you familiarly.

giusti

Registered
Reaction score