• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Finding your genre...

Status
Not open for further replies.

JustJess

Registered
Reaction score
I know it's best to write what you read BUT what if you read many different genres without a particular favorite?

I'm a brand-spanking new to this (with the exception of 1 completed first draft that's been collecting dust for over a year) and am torn between two ideas-one YA and the other Suspense. I read everything but mostly Historical, Fantasy, Paranormal, YA, Suspense (along gothic lines) and Chick Lit.

So I'm curious as to how others decided what to write...

Did level of "prep work/research" play a factor?
For instance both of my ideas would work very well in either a historical or fantasy context but I worry that as a new writer I'd be too overwhelmed and caught up with the worldbuilding and historical research to make any progress.

Lastly, would it be crazy to start two WIPs and then just run with the one that felt most comfortable?

DeleyanLee

Writing Anarchist
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
1. Write the book you want to write.

2. Take a look at the main conflict focus for a hint as to what genre it might fall into.

If the conflict focus is on interpersonal relationship, it's likely Romance or Literary. The distinctions between those two are obvious.

If the conflict focus is on the internal, then it's likely Literary.

If the conflict focus is on the external, take a look at the type of external and what's involved.
Solving a crime? Mystery.
Stopping the baddies from extreme destruction? Thriller.
Discovering/exploring some technological or scientific concept? Science Fiction
Discovering/exploring something utterly non-real, magical or legendary? Fantasy

I think you get the picture of how to figure things out from that.