How Do you Quit? (Teal Deer Coming)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Riley

They won't let me be good
Registered
Reaction score
How do you quit writing? Completely?

As in, 'been there, done that, moving on with my life now'?

I've been writing a new novel and I can tell the work is utterly dismal. Fourteen years and I still write crap? I tell myself this and it only makes me more determined to keep on going. It's as if a part of me still entertains delusions that I am a good writer.

Granted, I'm not a bad writer. I can string together a coherent sentence and can almost make up convincing characters, settings, and plots. But I know my work lacks that special quality that makes it readable, publishable, even memorable. I can tell when I'm reading bad or good writing, which says something, but. . .

I came here to see if I had the stuff to be a real writer. Once, I thought I did. Now, I know I don't. Every time I try to quit, however, I find myself inexorably drawn back to the page. It's a habit, you see, one that I can't seem to break.

Advice, tips, general punches to the face--all of it would be appreciated. Thanks.

joyce

I'm really shy...
Registered
Reaction score
Website
thoughtsfromthecave.blogspot.com
I don't know how to stop writing. I've been writing my whole life and after 35 years I finally finished a novel. It's in my blood and I can't seem to stop writing. This past year was the first year I took my writing serious and tried to get published. I'm still on that journey, but am satisfied that at last I've completed two novels. It only took me those 35 years to do it though. I still have moments I wonder who do I think I am in trying to get published, but I'm addicted. If published credits are never achieved, I'll still be writing. I know this didn't help, but good luck.:)

Riley

Registered
Reaction score
I've found quitting writing -- well depending on what you call writing -- to be easier than quitting absolute write.

All too true, Pink.