PDA

View Full Version : Writing --> web development

Wandering Sensei
03-24-2005, 10:42 PM
I'm a technical/corporate writer who'd like to move more into web development. What background/software training would be best to learn first? I know some PageMaker and QuarkXpress but am no expert. I've studied HTML. I know most of the basic software.

Thanks.

mommie4a
03-24-2005, 11:24 PM
I posted some info on your other thread that asked about websites. Sounds like you have the initiative to learn on your own. The curve can be sharp but if you stick with it, I'm sure it's worth knowing and doing on your own, because you can make it look the way you want and update it when you want and save money!

Richard
03-25-2005, 05:05 AM
Learn how to use CSS to design your pages rather than HTML. It's very, very easy - especially if you haven't been poisoned by tables ;-)

You can get started here: http://www.w3schools.com/css/default.asp

Wandering Sensei
03-25-2005, 09:55 AM
I posted some info on your other thread that asked about websites. Sounds like you have the initiative to learn on your own. The curve can be sharp but if you stick with it, I'm sure it's worth knowing and doing on your own, because you can make it look the way you want and update it when you want and save money!

After banging my head against rocket science and quantum physics in college, ain't nuthin' I can't learn.:Lecture:

And Richard, thanks for the CSS links.

Frumious B
03-26-2005, 02:30 PM
A great way to get into web dev is to create a site for a Not For Profit organisation. Find one that matches your politics, offer to design/redesign their site and away you go. From your prior experience as a tech writer, you will know how to get the content from the SMEs (like getting blood from a stone innit?) and once you have the content, you can design away!

This is how I got my first experience with web dev. Until I realised I was completely crap at it. At least I had tech writing to fall back on. Phew.