PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed: Launching a small press

Gigi Sahi
03-04-2008, 10:49 PM
I apologize in advance for the length of this post (1900 words approx), and hope that I’ve put this in the right place.

As some of you may know, I’m a self-publishing hobbyist. I’ve set up a company, own a 10-block of ISBNs, and have published and self-distributed three books, with modest success, to date.

A little over a month ago, a writer-friend asked me to have a look at her manuscript for feedback. I did, and I positively LOVE it. It’s the first in a trilogy of detective stories. I’ve since read the completed second book, which I also love, and she’s currently working on the third and final book in the series.

To be fair to her, I immediately advised her to seek agent representation. She gave me a few reasons why she didn’t want to go that route. I don’t completely agree with her reasons, but they are HER reasons. I then suggested Soho Press. Again, she gave me HER reasons for not wanting to submit to them. All the while, she has no idea that I have a little home-based publishing setup.