Anyone with experience in a funeral home (or with death, generally)?

Death Bean

I AM the Doom Legume!!!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
death-bean.blogspot.com
Having being lucky in that no one really close to me has passed away, I have little or no experience with funeral homes, and lots of questions... I'll make a list...
  • Do they actually embalm/dress the body in a back room of the funeral home one would walk into to make arrangements? And is that where the body gets put into the coffin?
  • If so, where does the body come from? The morgue at the hospital? Is it delivered naked (or with a sheet?) for the funeral home to dress?
  • What typical staff would be employed in a family firm?
And, slightly off-topic but death-related nonetheless: burials at sea. Is the coffin watertight, and weighed down with bricks or similar to keep it from bobbing back up to the surface, or is the water allowed to leak in and so sink the coffin? Do they MAKE watertight coffins, and if so, for what purpose? And am I insane for thinking they might? :D

Any info would be great!

oneblindmouse

The new me
Registered
Reaction score
At sea there is NO coffin. The body is weighted so it will sink.

oneblindmouse

The new me
Registered
Reaction score
Further to your question, burial practises vary between countries and cultures. In Spain, where I live, the deceased has to be buried within 48 hours BY LAW (presumably dating from pre-fridge days) unless there is a police inquest, whereas in the UK, for example, the dead body often lies at the funeral home for up to a week!

johnnysannie

Banned
Reaction score
Website
leeannsontheimermurphywriterauthor.blogspot.com
Having being lucky in that no one really close to me has passed away, I have little or no experience with funeral homes, and lots of questions... I'll make a list...