• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Guidelines Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anatole Ghio

Ironic Paranormal
Registered
Reaction score
Hey gang -

I have a few questions about publishing material and I thought this forum would be the best place to put them in.

1) Does posting something on my blog count as "previously published"?

2) Does posting a piece for critque on a writing board, such as this one, count as "previously published"?

3) I have a friend who wants to do a zine on bhuddist poetry and doesn't want to be later sued for royalties if he should ever get the chance to mass market it. How does he create an contract or agreement to cover later publication, should he get the chance to do a wider print run?

Thanks.

- Anatole

Betty W01

Empress of Cyberworld
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not a lawyer and I don't play one on TV, but here's my take on your questions:

1. Probably. Possibly. It depends on what the editor of the magazine in question thinks. Sometimes print mags don't care about web publication (especially small-time blogs), since they have no web arm themselves and so no way of using your stuff on the web. Sometimes they do, for various reasons. And then there's the fact that, really, print first rights and electronic rights are two different things anyway, although some magazines buy both at once...

2. See above...

3. No idea. I'd tell him to see a lawyer who knows something about the publishing business.

Good luck.

aka eraser

Fish Whisperer
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.frankbaron.com