Newbie question: market research

Lora

Hello, everybody,

I've read the pages very carefully but somehow I didn't find the answer to this question.

First, let me introduce myself. I'm basically a non-fiction writer so I have this analytical approach:cool:. I've also read a book on erotica writing which says you need to research your possible markets (publishers, etc) to death before ever starting writing. I had a look at the online e-publishers, but all I could see was that they publish quite diverse stuff -- I couldn't notice any particular preferences in style or whatever. So my question is, do you research your markets before writing? Or you just try to tell the best story you can :kiss::heart: and then look for whatever market accepts it?

And maybe you have some other advice for a newbie like myself? Or encouragement? It seems like such an awfully complicated decision to make -- to write erotica. One minute I love the idea, next minute I hate myself, but I absolutely want to try, at least.

Thank you!

Lora

pepperlandgirl

American Aquarium Drinker
Registered
Reaction score
I just wrote whatever I wanted first. But then, I knew I had readers whether or not I was published, so it's not like I was writing for a void. After I had some stories, I started researching which publisher would be best for me, and once I had an idea of the ones I liked, I simply watched them. I watched <B>Liquid Silver Books</B> for a long time before I submitted to them, just to make sure they weren't going to disappear suddenly, lol.

veinglory

volitare nequeo
Self-Ban
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.veinglory.com
I write with an awareness of several specific markets that I could send the piece to. There is a range, but still plenty of stuff that would fall between the gaps or combine elements in a way that few readerships want.

veinglory

volitare nequeo
Self-Ban
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.veinglory.com