Using real stars, places, products, brand names

Status
Not open for further replies.

Winter Lone

Registered
Reaction score
Greeting,
I'm a newbie.
Can anyone help me with the guidelines for writers using real names, such as hotels, malls, drinks products (like Coca Cola) or stars?
Thanks so much for the help.

Neon

Registered
Reaction score
I dont know about any laws restricting you from using brand names, but mentioning stars can date your book.
For instance, if a book is speaking about how a girl has a huge crush on Nick Carter, you know that it was probably wrote 10 years ago. I don't know if that's a good or a bad thing, but it's something i would want to avoid.

Prawn

Writing is finite,revising infinite
Registered
Reaction score
I believe you are in the clear as long as you don't defame them. If you are going to say anything bad about them, you might want to use an imaginary place or product.

KikiteNeko

Registered
Reaction score
I've been told that to use events, you will need to get a copyright for certain proper names. But I don't think this is difficult or expensive, as I've seen a lot of low-budget and bestsellers mention several of these.

Greeting,
I'm a newbie.
Can anyone help me with the guidelines for writers using real names, such as hotels, malls, drinks products (like Coca Cola) or stars?
Thanks so much for the help.

Mumut

Well begun is half done...
Registered
Reaction score
If you are a member of a writers' group you might be able to get free legal advice. The Queensland Writers' Centre offers this service to members.

Shweta

Sick and absent
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
shwetanarayan.org
I wonder if this question would get more useful answers in the Roundtable. It doesn't seem to me to be novel-specific information... so would you like me to move it over and see?

Also, wow, several of you here joined just this month! Big :welcome: to you all!

jannawrites

no, really
Registered
Reaction score