Not open for further replies.

Greenwolf103

I'm a grrrl dog, yo
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
dmcwriter.tripod.com
I've put together a themed booklet of quotations. I've been told that I must first obtain permission before I use a person's quote but I can't remember EVERYWHERE I got the quotes from (I've been collecting these quotes for many years) and some of the quotes are from Shakespeare, Wordsworth, Poe, Frost and other people not exactly living and breathing anymore. I know I can try to get permission from their estate but I don't know how. And one widely published poet I tried to get permission from ignored my letters.

So, what should I do? There isn't a quotes book like this and I think it'd be something poets and admirers of poetry would like. Please advise....

--Dawn

Deleted member 42

Greenwolf103 said:
I've put together a themed booklet of quotations. I've been told that I must first obtain permission before I use a person's quote but I can't remember EVERYWHERE I got the quotes from (I've been collecting these quotes for many years) and some of the quotes are from Shakespeare, Wordsworth, Poe, Frost and other people not exactly living and breathing anymore.

There are two issues. First, attribution. You must have the source for every quotation. No question. You must. For poems you need title, author, page, and line numbers, and the publication info. For plays, same stuff, with act and scene and line number and pages.

Second, the rights.

Don't get permission until you have a publisher. The publisher will help determine what you need to get permission for, and you'll need information about when it will be published, and how many copies, etc., in order to request the permission.