Historical Novels.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Neon

Registered
Reaction score
How hard is it to write about a time you've never actually experienced?

I recently read a book that was set in Rome BC. The writer was talking about how one of the women had 'dyed, blonde hair'. I never even knew people in those times could dye their hair- how much research does it generally take?

I would love to write a novel set in the past as i am obsessed with all things ancient- it just seems like it would be very easy to do it badly.

P.S sorry for all the posts, i am an over excited and interested newbie.

P.P.S sorry if this is in the wrong forum.

Shweta

Sick and absent
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
shwetanarayan.org
You might get more on this over in the Historical forum, so I'll port it over there :)

c.e.lawson

Registered
Reaction score
Hi Neon,

Welcome to AW!

I'm currently working on a historical novel set in ancient Sparta. I have no formal background in that time period or place, nor am I a historian. It can be difficult, to be frank, although it's fascinating and wonderful at the same time. And yes, it is easy to do badly.

Why don't you scroll down to the Historical Writing forum toward the bottom of the main page? There's plenty of this sort of discussion there.

Good luck!

c.e.

Neon

Registered
Reaction score
That sounds fascinating- what is your story about?

Kenny

Registered
Reaction score
I'm writing a historical fantasy set in medieval England. I've found that reading many different books--mainly focusing upon social history--helps tonnes. Don't try and focus your research into one area though.

The book I'm currently reading is about streets in medieval England, but before that I've read about night in medieval France, senses in medieval England, and lots of books on urban and a few on general history.

Zelenka

Going home!
Registered
Reaction score
Hi Neon,