How to create a good TWIST?

ebonyzer

Hi, I'm new...

My name is Ebony, I live in Australia, Im a uni student & I have a group oral presentation on the 'Short Story'...

Our group has chosen to focus on one aspect of the Short Story, i.e 'The Twist' (or Climax or which ever the correct term is)

I'm just after some advice/ guidance/ opinion on a few questions:

1. What are the elements of a good 'Twist'?

2. Where does it appear in a Short Story?

3. How do you create a good Twist?

4. Any other relevant info in relation to creating a Twist in a short story?

Your help will be greatly appreciated - I look forward to reading your replies!

ebonyzer :)

Bunkly

If you're talking about the type of twist ending usually found in the "coffee break" section of women's interest magazines (err, I read them when I'm bored sometimes), then you might find this useful. Just for the record, I'm not crazy about twist-enders.

---
What makes a good twist? Well, something that nobody will expect is a good climax for a twist-ending story (obviously). This twist will usually occur in the very last sentence. Keep a vital piece of information from your reader and then reveal this in the very last few words of your story. Make it something that will have your reader kicking themselves because they didn't realise it sooner. Make it something that your reader could possibly guess. Drop subtle hints through the course of the story so your reader doesn't feel cheated at the end. Don't make it something which would be impossible to guess. Look at the Shawshank Redemption (the film, not the novella). We knew right from the beginning that the prison warden was evil, but did we still expect him to have that young kid shot? (watch that film if you haven't.)