Where should a new author promote?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eboe

Registered
Reaction score
I'm not sure what or where I should post so I have a question. What or where do I as a new author go or do to possibly promote my book here or get a little notice maybe on the authors section, please as I am a new author excuse my enthusiam I am just hoping for a few answers. Thank You

johnrobison

A Free Range Aspergian
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.johnrobison.com
If your book is in stores, it would make sense for you to go out and meet booksellers and promote it there. If your book is not in stores, the same advice aoolies, but with a view to getting stores to stock the book.

It won't sell unless readers can find it.

Mumut

Well begun is half done...
Registered
Reaction score
Ask stores to have you in for book signings. Some stores will advertise in advance and if it's in a shopping complex this can be very worthwhile. I ask the local papers to include the signing as a feature in the edition before I sign. Have eye-catching displays. The cover of my book is spectacular so I have a metre high poster of it on a stand next to my table. I keep standing next to a neat display of my book, I make eye contact, smile and have a brief spiel ready to capture the imagination of my victims. I'm lucky. My plot takes place, mainly, in England in Medieval times. I have borrowed a joupon (mail vest) and lay that on the table. It is a good drawcard.

Because my book is read by ages between 9 and 73, I give talks to young readers groups at libraries and writers groups. Because I'm ancient myself, I talk at service groups (National Seniors, Probus, Rotary etc). I don't charge for my talks but usually sell about fifteen books (big deal for me!).