How stuck is TOO stuck?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dreamsofnever

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.kellyguentner.com
Just curious when you decide to throw in the towel on a work in progress. I've heard that every writer gets to a point in their wip where they just hate it, and feel like everything they're writing on it is crap.

I'm almost positive I went through that with my last novel, but I don't remember it lasting this long. I don't know if it's because I'm writing on an idea that I've been working on for 8 years (it originally started out as a tv series concept and then became a pilot script with episode plans) and I'm just having a hard time translating it to novel format. Or if it's because I'm working with YA when my previous novel was adult and it's tough to switch age groups, or if it's because I'm writing in first person when I'm used to third person.

At any rate, I've had a love-hate relationship with this version of the story since about page 50. The first 50 pages (or so) were written in a flurry of excitement for my 'new' project and the new perspective I was able to bring to it with the first person pov.

I know it's not writer's block because, in my frustration with this story, I started on a sequel to the previous novel (mostly for my husband, as he's been asking for the sequel since he read the first one) and that's coming along just fine. Maybe that's because he's excited and I'm getting near-instant feedback that yes, it is enjoyable and well-written and I'm not getting that with the YA project.

Sorry for the rambling post. Apparently, it's my way of procrastinating writing on this project. The problem is, I love the characters and I love the story and I think it will be pretty good once I gain some momentum (and with editing) but it's getting there that's the problem.

Puma

Retired and loving it!
Registered
Reaction score