• Guest please check The Index before starting a thread.

Question for Published Authors about Marketing

ncq13

I'm new to the world of publishing and have a couple of questions. How much marketing do you do for yourself on average? I'm talking, websites/fan sites, book signings, purchasing your own marketing tools for fans and signings etc. Secondly, how much marketing can you expect a small publisher to do for you? And lastly, have you ever purchased copies of your own book to bring to signings?
Thank you for providing this helpful info!

vstrauss

>>How much marketing do you do for yourself on average? I'm talking, websites/fan sites, book signings, purchasing your own marketing tools for fans and signings etc.<<

As much as I can stand, which is not as much as some people. In the four months since my latest book's release, I've done radio and online interviews, online chats, a major update on my website to feature the book, and a few readings/signings in my local area. I've also solicited articles in local papers, and some reviews from well-trafficked websites my publisher didn't cover.

The one thing I haven't done, because I hate it, is attend conferences. If you can stand it, this can be helpful in terms of getting your name out, as well as meeting readers and networking.

I've never bought stuff, such as postcards or bookplates or bookmarks, but some authors do.

>>Secondly, how much marketing can you expect a small publisher to do for you?<<