Asking for work?

KansasWriter

Registered
Reaction score
I'm reading through The Renegade Writer (pretty good so far!) and it suggests something interesting.

Rather than querying trade mags with actual ideas, TRW suggests writing to ask for work. That is, writing a letter along the lines of "Hi there. I'm so-and-so and have lots of experience in X field. I'm a great writer. Do you have a need for any writers?" (clearly, a better letter than that is needed)

Anyone had any luck with this? I'm afraid I don't have any particular "trade" experience. Maybe I could spin other experience into something...hmmmm.

KW

limitedtimeauthor

Super duper user
Registered
Reaction score
I haven't done that with trade magazines, but it's all I've ever done. (One website I write for might be considered a "trade" though. Two local mags, and one b2b advertorial publication. All were a result of using this method.)

They sometimes call it a "letter of introduction" or "LOI."

If you have background in a trade, and have writing samples (which you do now!), then this can be a great way to get assignments.

(Just noticed you said you don't have "trade" experience. But these mags are not only for carpenters or welders, lol. For instance, there are magazines for administrative assistants, hotel housekeepers, sales and marketing personnel, etc. Think of every job you've ever held, and there is probably a trade for that. Check out this sticky on where to find trade magazines. It hasn't been updated in a while, but may still be useful....)

Personally, I love this arrangement. They tell me what they want, I figure it out and write it. Love, love, LOVE it. :)

Try it!

ltd.

Last edited:

KansasWriter

Registered
Reaction score
Thanks LTD - I will try it! I'm a little taken aback to hear you say "that's all I've ever done". Are you saying you don't send query letters for article ideas at all? You just send out these LOIs? If so, this opens up a whole new playing field for me...

KW