Stabbed in the heart!

NancyMehl

She Who Resonates...
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.nancymehlbooks.com
I have an editor who says that if someone was stabbed in the chest with a thin, sharp instrument, there's only a one in a million chance that the person doing the stabbing would hit the heart and kill the person.

Any experts out there who agree or disagree with that?

(I can't have an overly bloody scene for many reasons so multiple stabbings could cause me a problem.)

Also - what if the person was stabbed in the back? Would this be more deadly?

Nancy

Plot Device

A woman said to write like a man.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
sandwichboardroom.blogspot.com
I'm no expert, but here's my understanding:

1) The idea of "one in a million" is a bit of a stretch. More like one in two hundred.

2) I'm told the most difficult thing is for the blade to FULLY penetrate the muscle wall (although it has been done many many times).

3) Ribs can be a hinderence (that's their job, actually).

4) It's more likely the knife will pierce the major (and I do mean MAJOR) vessels surrounding the heart than the heart itself.

5) The muscles of your back are usually thicker and in much better shape than the muscles of your front-side. So again, penetration is an issue.

6) Stabbing in the back is more likely to result in a punctured lung than a pierced heart.

HeronW

Down Under Fan
Registered
Reaction score
In the front you have collarbones, ribs, and the sternum, the back has the wings of the shoulder blades and more ribs. Old joke redux: the way to a man's heart is through his stomach, past the liver and go right.

A thin blade, and frankly, most edges are thin, so slipping it in sideways at the center of the left breast will usually get a hit on the heart or the aortas.