Status
Not open for further replies.

Straka

Bored Fanatic
Registered
Reaction score
Website
danstraka.blogspot.com
So I got laid off and now I have a lot of time on my hands to work on writing while I look into shifting my "professional" career. Maybe advertising. But I'd give my left pinky toe to get into the computer games industry.

Anyway I was wondering what does everyone do for a "day" job?

nevada

Registered
Reaction score
I'm a finishing carpenter. I think in the States we're called Trim Carpenters. I'm one of a handful of women in Calgary. I've been told there are other women but I've never actually met any, so I think there are maybe ten? I love my job. I used to be a secretary but got laid off when they moved the company to the Bahamas. I fell into carpentry and I've never looked back. Money is good, job is awesome, and right now the housing market is booming so I have more work than I can handle.

Would I give it up to write full-time? Only if i had lots of money to fall back on. I like getting out of the house and working. After a few days off I get antsy and I want to go back to building stuff.

Storm Dream

Into the blue memory
Registered
Reaction score
I'm a copy editor. This means I am physically incapable of turning off my internal editor. :)

They've been trimming my magazine down lately, though, so I've had more time to sit here and write...

Finni

discipula vitae
Registered
Reaction score
Now that I am disabled I write most of the day, or do something that contributes to my writing, such as researching the climate of the early holocene in the fertile crescent (but I won't go there again :rant:)