A quick question for the Roman experts out there

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zelenka

Going home!
Registered
Reaction score
Just double checking something I read on a none-too-reliable source; Does anyone know if it is true that Roman officials in the Holy Land and thereabouts would have spoken Greek rather than Latin in their work and dealings? Particularly around the first century AD? I know later the Byzantine Empire tended to use Greek, but was it common earlier on?

I just wanted to be sure this is correct as one of my characters has a discussion related to this. Any help is much appreciated.

Claudia Gray

Registered
Reaction score
I'm no expert, but I'm inclined to think that's probably accurate. Greek was very commonly spoken/written in among Romans of that era.

mscelina

Teh doommobile, drivin' rite by you
Requiescat In Pace
Registered
Reaction score
Going shopping with Soccer Mom and Bubastes for fu
I don't believe that anything other than Latin was used for official purposes--at least in the documents and literature of the time. But spoken? The Latin of 1st century Rome wasn't the classical Latin that we learn today--it was 'vulgar' Latin--a hodgepodge of various languages and dialects from ancient people and tribes assimilated by the growing city-state. I don't find it difficult to believe that Greek would probably be spoken, particularly in business transactions or negotiations at the time. As I recollect, Romans of a particular station and educational level were expected to be fluent in Greek--as were merchants throughout the Mediterranean basin. So even as Latin was the language of diplomacy in the Middle Ages, Greek was the 'universal' language of commerce and diplomacy in the ancient world.

Deleted member 42

The records are all in Latin, with bits of Greek for cultural references mixed in, but yeah, I expect they'd have been multi-lingual--pretty much anyone with power there had to be.

Zelenka

Going home!
Registered
Reaction score